Follow Footymad on Facebook Follow Footymad on Twitter RSS feed

Sunderland's results from season 1997/1998

Results of games featuring Sunderland during the season

Match result analysis
Venue Played Won Drawn Lost For Against
Home 25 16 7 2 53 23
Away 28 14 5 9 45 35
Neutral 1 0 1 0 4 4
Total 54 30 13 11 102 62
Click here to view Sunderland's complete league history View Sunderland's results from other seasons
Date Opponents V Type Res/KO Venue Att View options
Sun 10 Aug 1997 Sheffield United A League L 0-2 Bramall Lane     Stats Table
Fri 15 Aug 1997 MANCHESTER CITY H League W 3-1 Stadium of Light     Stats Table
Sat 23 Aug 1997 Port Vale A League L 1-3 Vale Park     Stats Table
Sat 30 Aug 1997 NORWICH CITY H League L 0-1 Stadium of Light     Stats Table
Tue 02 Sep 1997 OXFORD UNITED H League W 3-1 Stadium of Light     Stats Table
Fri 05 Sep 1997 Bradford City A League W 4-0 Valley Parade     Stats Table
Sun 14 Sep 1997 Birmingham City A League W 1-0 St. Andrews     Stats Table
Tue 16 Sep 1997 BURY H League Cup W 2-1 Stadium of Light 18,775   Stats  
Sat 20 Sep 1997 WOLVERHAMPTON WANDERERS H League D 1-1 Stadium of Light     Stats Table
Tue 23 Sep 1997 Bury A League Cup W 2-1 Gigg Lane 3,928   Stats  
Sunderland won 4-2 on aggregate
Sun 28 Sep 1997 MIDDLESBROUGH H League L 1-2 Stadium of Light     Stats Table
Sat 04 Oct 1997 Reading A League L 0-4 Elm Park     Stats Table
Wed 15 Oct 1997 Middlesbrough A League Cup L 0-2 Riverside Stadium 26,451   Stats  
Sat 18 Oct 1997 HUDDERSFIELD TOWN H League W 3-1 Stadium of Light     Stats Table
Tue 21 Oct 1997 SWINDON TOWN H League D 0-0 Stadium of Light     Stats Table
Sat 25 Oct 1997 Stoke City A League W 2-1 Britannia Stadium     Stats Table
Sat 01 Nov 1997 Stockport County A League D 1-1 Edgeley Park     Stats Table
Tue 04 Nov 1997 CHARLTON ATHLETIC H League D 0-0 Stadium of Light     Stats Table
Sat 08 Nov 1997 NOTTINGHAM FOREST H League D 1-1 Stadium of Light     Stats Table
Sat 15 Nov 1997 Portsmouth A League W 4-1 Fratton Park     Stats Table
Sat 22 Nov 1997 Bury A League D 1-1 Gigg Lane     Stats Table
Sat 29 Nov 1997 TRANMERE ROVERS H League W 3-0 Stadium of Light     Stats Table
Sat 06 Dec 1997 Queens Park Rangers A League W 1-0 Loftus Road     Stats Table
Sat 13 Dec 1997 WEST BROMWICH ALBION H League W 2-0 Stadium of Light     Stats Table
Sat 20 Dec 1997 Crewe Alexandra A League W 3-0 Gresty Road     Stats Table
Fri 26 Dec 1997 BRADFORD CITY H League W 2-0 Stadium of Light     Stats Table
Sun 28 Dec 1997 Oxford United A League D 1-1 Manor Ground     Stats Table
Sat 03 Jan 1998 Rotherham United A F.A. Cup W 5-1 Millmoor 11,500   Stats  
Sat 10 Jan 1998 SHEFFIELD UNITED H League W 4-2 Stadium of Light     Stats Table
Sat 17 Jan 1998 Manchester City A League W 1-0 Maine Road     Stats Table
Sat 24 Jan 1998 Tranmere Rovers A F.A. Cup L 0-1 Prenton Park 14,055   Stats  
Wed 28 Jan 1998 Norwich City A League L 1-2 Carrow Road     Stats Table
Sat 31 Jan 1998 PORT VALE H League W 4-2 Stadium of Light     Stats Table
Sat 07 Feb 1998 Wolverhampton Wanderers A League W 1-0 Molineux     Stats Table
Tue 17 Feb 1998 READING H League W 4-1 Stadium of Light     Stats Table
Sat 21 Feb 1998 Middlesbrough A League L 1-3 Riverside Stadium     Stats Table
Tue 24 Feb 1998 Huddersfield Town A League W 3-2 Kirklees Stadium     Stats Table
Sat 28 Feb 1998 IPSWICH TOWN H League D 2-2 Stadium of Light     Stats Table
Wed 04 Mar 1998 Nottingham Forest A League W 3-0 City Ground     Stats Table
Sat 07 Mar 1998 STOCKPORT COUNTY H League W 4-1 Stadium of Light     Stats Table
Tue 10 Mar 1998 BIRMINGHAM CITY H League D 1-1 Stadium of Light     Stats Table
Sun 15 Mar 1998 Charlton Athletic A League D 1-1 The Valley     Stats Table
Sat 21 Mar 1998 PORTSMOUTH H League W 2-1 Stadium of Light     Stats Table
Sat 28 Mar 1998 BURY H League W 2-1 Stadium of Light     Stats Table
Fri 03 Apr 1998 Tranmere Rovers A League W 2-0 Prenton Park     Stats Table
Fri 10 Apr 1998 QUEENS PARK RANGERS H League D 2-2 Stadium of Light     Stats Table
Mon 13 Apr 1998 West Bromwich Albion A League D 3-3 The Hawthorns     Stats Table
Sat 18 Apr 1998 CREWE ALEXANDRA H League W 2-1 Stadium of Light     Stats Table
Sat 25 Apr 1998 STOKE CITY H League W 3-0 Stadium of Light     Stats Table
Tue 28 Apr 1998 Ipswich Town A League L 0-2 Portman Road     Stats Table
Sun 03 May 1998 Swindon Town A League W 2-1 County Ground     Stats Table
Sun 10 May 1998 Sheffield United A FL P/O Lvl2 L 1-2 Bramall Lane 23,800   Stats  
Wed 13 May 1998 SHEFFIELD UNITED H FL P/O Lvl2 W 2-0 Stadium of Light 40,092   Stats  
Sunderland won 3-2 on aggregate
Mon 25 May 1998 Charlton Athletic Neu FL P/O Lvl2 D 4-4 Wembley (old) 77,739   Stats  
after extra time, 90 minutes 3-3, Charlton Athletic won 7-6 on penalties, played at Wembley